Starlink is not on sale in India. As of the government’s statement on October 9, the company holds its licences but is still waiting on home-ministry security clearance, foreign-investment approval and a final spectrum assignment. No official price exists: Starlink’s own vice president said so after a pricing page briefly appeared on its website and vanished, and the figures you see in headlines come from that page and from press reports. We read the government and company statements, rebuilt the cost of owning a dish under each reported price, and mapped the situations where the wait matters, from a farmhouse with no fiber to a reader who has just been offered a “pre-booking.”
Key Answers Before You Spend Anything
Starlink India generates more rumor than any other consumer technology story we track. Each answer is short on purpose; the sections that follow carry the evidence and the exceptions.
No. Starlink holds a satellite-communication licence and space-regulator authorisation, but the communications minister said on October 9 that operators can start only after they individually meet security conditions, and no timeline was given. Foreign-investment approval and final spectrum assignment are also outstanding.
A GMPCS licence from the Department of Telecommunications in June 2025 and an IN-SPACe authorisation in July 2025. In September 2026 the Digital Communications Commission approved a spectrum usage charge. Those steps let it prepare, but not sell service.
There is no official price. Starlink’s vice president said India pricing had not been announced after a page showing ₹8,600 a month and a ₹34,000 kit appeared and was withdrawn. Press reports expect ₹2,500 to ₹3,500 a month and a kit near ₹33,000.
Not through any official channel. Starlink said it is not taking orders from customers in India. The company took $99 refundable deposits in 2021, was told to stop, and refunded them. Treat any site, agent or message asking for money today as unofficial.
A minister said in July 2025 that Starlink can serve only 20 lakh customers in India at speeds up to 200 Mbps. That is a government statement, and the conditions of the final authorisation may differ, so check them at launch.
Almost certainly not. Reported entry fiber and fixed-wireless plans run ₹500 to ₹1,000 a month, and Starlink is expected to cost three to five times as much. It is meant for homes, farms, vessels and sites that wired and mobile networks do not reach.
We found no official guidance that allows it, and security agencies have flagged Starlink devices recovered in India. Do not buy a grey-market kit hoping it will activate. Wait for an authorised launch and the terms that come with it.
Reliance Jio’s satellite arm and Eutelsat OneWeb also hold licences and also await security clearance and spectrum. The minister said Amazon’s Project Kuiper is a fourth applicant. Government statements say all operators face the same process.
Check your sky view and roof access, budget for the high end of the reported price, keep your current connection, and learn the official sources. Do not pay deposits, and report offers that ask for money to the cybercrime helpline.
Where Starlink India Really Stands
Licences are not launches. Here is the full list of what Starlink has and what it still needs, in the order the government describes it.
The fastest way to understand the delay is to separate permission to prepare from permission to sell. Starlink has the first. The Department of Telecommunications granted its GMPCS authorisation in June 2025, alongside a VSAT service licence and an ISP licence, and IN-SPACe followed in July 2025 with authorisation for Starlink’s first-generation constellation. Starlink was the third company, after Eutelsat OneWeb and Reliance Jio’s satellite arm, to get the DoT licence.
In our review of the latest statements, we found a consistent message from every official source. Communications Minister Jyotiraditya Scindia said on October 9 at the India Mobile Congress that none of the three licensees can start until two further decisions are made, and that each must meet security conditions individually. Minister of State Chandra Sekhar Pemmasani said the DoT had issued licences and provisionally allocated spectrum, with security clearances pending at the Ministry of Home Affairs. Starlink, which is wholly owned by SpaceX, also needs foreign direct investment approval, which OneWeb and Jio’s satellite venture do not.
| Step | Status | Who decides | What it means |
|---|---|---|---|
| GMPCS licence | Granted June 2025 | Department of Telecommunications | Allows it to prepare; does not allow sales |
| IN-SPACe authorisation | Granted July 2025 | Space regulator | Covers the satellite constellation, not the service launch |
| Spectrum charge | Approved in principle September 2026 | Digital Communications Commission, then final approval | Reported at 5% of adjusted gross revenue, 4% for rural areas; framework still being completed |
| Spectrum assignment | Provisional allocation reported; final pending | Department of Telecommunications | Commercial service needs it |
| Security clearance | Pending | Ministry of Home Affairs | The step officials call decisive |
| Foreign investment approval | Pending | Government | Needed because Starlink is wholly owned by SpaceX |
| Data and gateways | 20 gateway sites built; Indian user data to stay in India, per the company | DoT security conditions | Helpful, but officials say it is not enough by itself |
The security question, in plain terms
India’s licence conditions for satellite operators include lawful interception, data localisation and the ability to restrict service in specific areas or for specific users during emergencies. At the India Mobile Congress, Starlink’s vice president of business operations, Lauren Dreyer, said the company had built 20 gateway sites with hundreds of antennas, created India-specific controls and would keep Indian user data inside the country. Officials responded that gateways and data storage do not by themselves establish compliance with every condition.
Two reported complications deserve a plain statement. Bloomberg reported in June that home-ministry security agencies had withheld clearance over use of Starlink terminals in Iran, where the company is not licensed. And Indian forces have recovered Starlink equipment in operations, including in Manipur in December 2024, which is why the security review focuses on controlling who can use terminals. We have not seen the government publish the exact conditions each operator must meet, and it is one of the open questions to watch.
The politics, and why you can mostly ignore them
In October, Elon Musk accused unnamed oligarchs of blocking Starlink in India, a remark commentators linked to Reliance, though Musk did not name a company at first. Scindia answered that India does not allow a monopoly in any sector and that three companies hold licences, none yet cleared. The communications ministry added that its process is fair and non-discriminatory. Whatever you think of the rhetoric, the practical point for a customer is the same: clearance is pending for every licensed operator, and there is no date.
Spectrum is the other live issue. In October 2024 the government said satellite spectrum would be allocated administratively rather than by auction, a choice Starlink had backed and Reliance had opposed. TRAI recommended in May 2025 a spectrum charge of 4% of adjusted gross revenue plus ₹500 per urban subscriber a year. The Digital Communications Commission approved most of those recommendations this September, with reports of a 5% rate and a lower 4% rate for rural and remote service. A final decision was still described as pending, and Scindia cautioned that discussions between TRAI and the DoT could continue.
When a launch date finally arrives it will appear in government statements before it appears in YouTube thumbnails. Use the original sources and ignore countdown videos.
What Starlink India Will Cost, and Why Every Number Is Unofficial
Four different price stories are circulating. Only one of them came from Starlink’s own website, and the company said it was an error.
In December 2025, a page on Starlink’s India website briefly listed a residential plan at ₹8,600 a month with unlimited data and a ₹34,000 hardware kit. It disappeared within hours. Starlink’s vice president Lauren Dreyer said the India website was not live, that service pricing for customers in India had not been announced and that Starlink was not taking orders from customers in India. Reporters then cited a different expectation: ₹2,500 to ₹3,500 a month for retail customers, reported by the Economic Times. Another report, from CNBC Awaaz, put it near ₹3,000 a month with a ₹33,000 kit, mirroring Starlink’s pricing in Bangladesh.
In our review we kept all of these, labelled by source, rather than picking one. The honest summary is a range. A kit near ₹33,000 to ₹34,000 looks consistent across reports. The monthly fee runs from about ₹2,500 to ₹3,500 in the more credible estimates, and ₹8,600 if the withdrawn listing turned out to hold a real number. Starlink’s former India head Sanjay Bhargava had earlier estimated a first-year cost near ₹1.58 lakh, falling to ₹1.15 lakh later.
| Source of the number | Monthly fee | Hardware | First-year cost |
|---|---|---|---|
| Press report of expected retail pricing (low end) | ₹2,500 | About ₹33,000 | ₹63,000 |
| Press report of expected retail pricing (high end) | ₹3,500 | About ₹33,000 | ₹75,000 |
| Withdrawn website listing, called an error | ₹8,600 | ₹34,000 | ₹1,37,200 |
| Estimate by Starlink’s former India head | Not stated | Not stated | About ₹1,58,000, then ₹1,15,000 a year |
| Entry fiber or fixed wireless, for comparison | ₹500 to ₹1,000 | Little or none | ₹6,000 to ₹12,000 |
Several sites have printed the ₹8,600 and ₹34,000 figures as the confirmed launch price, some with a January launch date that came and went. Starlink itself said otherwise. When you see a launch price, ask three questions: does it come from a Starlink or government statement, is there a date and a way to pay, and does it mention approvals. If any answer is no, treat it as a guess.
The same caution applies to feature claims. The withdrawn page mentioned unlimited data, a 30-day trial and 99.9 per cent uptime. Those are unconfirmed for India, and the government’s stated speed cap of 200 Mbps and 20 lakh connection limit may shape what is actually offered.
The neighbor test: what Starlink charges nearby
Starlink’s pricing in neighboring Bangladesh is the closest real benchmark. Business Standard reported that Starlink’s website lists Bangladesh plans at $40 to $50 a month, or about ₹3,400 to ₹4,300, with equipment at $300 to $400, or about ₹25,800 to ₹34,400. That range matches the leaked expectations for India, which is why analysts treat ₹2,500 to ₹3,500 a month as plausible. It also shows how national pricing moves: Starlink prices by country, so India’s numbers may differ from anywhere else’s.
The launch-date graveyard
If you have been following Starlink India for years, you have watched a lot of dates expire. In late 2021 the company’s country head said it aimed to have 200,000 devices in India by December 2022, 80 per cent of them in rural districts, and began taking refundable $99 deposits. The government told it to stop within weeks. At least one 2026 article then predicted a January launch based on the withdrawn pricing page, and that date passed too. As of October 13 the stated position is the minister’s: operators start when they individually meet security conditions, with no timeline.
That history is useful for one reason. A launch date from anyone other than the government or the company’s own verified channels has so far been wrong every time we have checked. If a seller quotes a date to pressure you into paying, the date is the red flag.
| Market | Monthly price | Hardware | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| India | Not announced; reports of ₹2,500–3,500 | Reports near ₹33,000 | Licensed; not yet launched |
| Bangladesh | About $40–50 (₹3,400–4,300 per Business Standard) | About $300–400 | Live, per Starlink’s site as reported |
| United States | Roughly $55 to $130 for residential tiers, reported | About $349 kit, or a rental where offered | Live; sources differ by about $5 on the mid tier |
The United States row comes with a warning about third-party price sites. Sources we reviewed list the mid-tier US residential plan at $80 and at $85, and the entry tier at $50 and $55, because Starlink changes prices and promotions by address. We use the range, not a single number. The comparison is useful in one way only: Indian pricing, whenever it appears, will probably sit well below US dollar prices in dollar terms but well above local fiber in rupee terms.
The Worth-It Math for Indian Households
Starlink’s real cost is not the monthly fee. It is the dish, spread over the years you will keep it, plus the monthly fee, set against what the alternative is.
In our cost modeling we amortized the hardware over three and five years and added the monthly fee. At the low reported estimate of ₹2,500 a month with a ₹33,000 kit, the effective monthly cost over three years is about ₹3,417. At ₹3,500 a month it is about ₹4,417. Stretch ownership to five years and the numbers fall to about ₹3,050 and ₹4,050. If the withdrawn ₹8,600 listing proved real, the three-year effective cost would be about ₹9,544 a month.
| Scenario | Total over 3 years | Effective monthly, 3 years | Effective monthly, 5 years |
|---|---|---|---|
| ₹2,500 a month plus ₹33,000 kit | ₹1,23,000 | About ₹3,417 | About ₹3,050 |
| ₹3,500 a month plus ₹33,000 kit | ₹1,59,000 | About ₹4,417 | About ₹4,050 |
| ₹8,600 a month plus ₹34,000 kit | ₹3,43,600 | About ₹9,544 | About ₹9,167 |
| Fiber or fixed wireless at ₹1,000 a month | ₹36,000 | ₹1,000 | ₹1,000 |
The comparison with fiber is unfair on purpose, and that is the point. If fiber or a 5G fixed-wireless service reaches you, Starlink’s cost is hard to justify on price. India’s communications minister said in July 2025 that 5G coverage had reached 99.6 per cent of districts, with 4.74 lakh 5G towers and 97 crore internet subscribers, and Business Standard reported that Indian telcos cover more than 90 per cent of the country with 4G, 5G and fixed wireless. The people Starlink is for sit in the remaining gaps, where the real alternative is a patchy mobile signal or nothing.
That is why we frame the math as a question of value, not savings. Ask what a reliable connection is worth at your address. A homestay owner who loses bookings to dropped video calls, a farm that needs weather and market data, a clinic that needs telemedicine: each can reach a figure where ₹3,500 to ₹4,500 a month is cheaper than the alternative. A household that mainly streams and shops online usually cannot.
Open your phone’s settings and note your real download speed at the exact spot where you would use the internet, at three times of day. Ask a neighbor with fixed wireless or fiber what they pay and what speed they get. Then write one sentence: what would a stable connection let me do that I cannot do now? Put a rupee value on it per month. If that value is not above ₹3,500, wait for launch pricing before you decide, and do not pay for a dish ahead of time.
Who else is lining up
| Operator | Status | Needs foreign investment approval? | What to know |
|---|---|---|---|
| Starlink | Licensed; awaiting security clearance, FDI approval and spectrum | Yes, wholly foreign-owned | Went direct-to-consumer in its plans; also tied up with Indian telcos in earlier reports |
| Jio Satellite Communications | Licensed; awaiting clearance and spectrum | No, per reports | Backed by Reliance, which argued against free administrative allocation |
| Eutelsat OneWeb | Licensed; awaiting clearance and spectrum | No, per reports | Part-owned by Bharti; focus on enterprise customers |
| Amazon Project Kuiper | Applicant for a licence, per the minister | Not stated | Fourth entrant to watch |
One reported structural limit shapes all of this. A press summary of an industry analysis said a single satellite constellation could serve only about 10,000 to 20,000 connections in a dense area like Delhi, compared with around 50 lakh broadband connections there. That is a capacity statement, not a government rule, but it explains why officials describe satcom as complementary to existing networks and why Starlink is positioned for rural and remote use.
Find Your Situation
Averages only get you so far. These are the situations where Starlink India matters most, and the traps each one tends to walk into.
You are the customer Starlink is designed for, and also the person most likely to be targeted by a scam. Do not pay a deposit, a booking fee or an installation charge today. No official sales channel exists, and the company itself says it is not taking orders in India.
Use the waiting time to prepare. Walk your property and find the spot with the widest clear view of the sky, with no trees, walls or roof edges in the way. Check whether the roof or pole location is yours to use, and whether power there is stable. If you run an inverter or solar setup, note its capacity so you can size it for a dish and router once you know the kit’s rated power draw. And ask whether anyone nearby already uses fixed wireless; their experience tells you whether you really need satellite.
Remote workers are the second-strongest case. A stable video-call connection can be worth a salary, so a ₹3,500 to ₹4,500 effective monthly cost may be rational. Two cautions. The government’s stated speed cap is 200 Mbps and 20 lakh connections nationwide, so do not assume a congested-network experience will match a home fiber line. And licence conditions include the ability to restrict service in specific areas or for specific users in emergencies, which matters in border and sensitive districts.
Keep your mobile plan as a fallback. The sensible setup for work is satellite for the main line and a cellular hotspot as backup, not either alone.
Business pricing has not been announced. The withdrawn page covered a residential plan only, and reports said enterprise pricing would follow. Do not assume a business plan costs the same as the residential figures in this guide.
Ask different questions from a household. What uptime and support does the business tier include, who provides installation, and how does GST invoicing work. Check whether your use case needs additional licences, such as a public Wi-Fi offering, and keep your existing connection until the new one has run through a monsoon. A reliable backup line is worth more than a faster single line.
Treat it as a scam until proven otherwise. Starlink’s vice president said the India site was not live and it was not taking orders from customers in India. In 2021 the Department of Telecommunications publicly advised citizens not to subscribe, told Starlink to stop booking, and the company refunded more than 5,000 refundable deposits of $99. A government that did that once is not going to bless a private dealer network now.
Do not send money, share Aadhaar or bank details, or click payment links sent by message. Check any claim against the official sources above. If you have already paid, contact your bank at once and report it to the National Cyber Crime Reporting Portal or the 1930 helpline, and keep screenshots of the offer, the number and the payment.
Resist it. We found no official guidance allowing a dish bought abroad to be activated in India, and Indian security agencies have flagged Starlink devices recovered in operations, including a drug bust in the Andaman and Nicobar Islands and an operation in Manipur, according to reports. The licence conditions Starlink must meet exist to prevent exactly this sort of uncontrolled terminal.
Even leaving the law aside, a dish without an authorised Indian service is a paperweight. Service must be activated against a licensed provider. Customs, warranty and activation are all open questions, and the money is better kept until launch terms are published.
Do not change anything. Entry plans at ₹500 to ₹1,000 a month are what the industry reports, and Starlink is expected to cost three to five times as much. Indian telcos have said they see satcom as complementary, and the government has made the same point, saying Starlink’s limits will not affect telecom services. If your current connection works, a dish is a luxury, not an upgrade.
The one exception is resilience. If your area loses power and fiber during storms, a satellite backup could earn its keep, but only once you know the real price and the restrictions.
No India roaming or maritime plans have been announced. The reported pricing is for a fixed residential service. Satellite services on ships and aircraft in Indian waters and airspace face additional rules, and the 2021 episode showed that unlicensed operation draws official attention. If mobility matters to you, treat it as a separate product that will need its own announcement, and do not rely on a US-style roam plan appearing.
Community sites are a compelling case, and also the one with the least information. No institutional or education pricing has been announced. Ask the company and your state’s telecom or education department about program pricing, and look at government connectivity schemes that fund remote sites. Spend nothing until the terms are public, and write down your uptime requirements so you can test them against launch claims.
Do not wire a dealer’s deposit for a Starlink kit to relatives. The reliable fact is the one in the first answer above: no official booking exists in India. If you want to help, send funds toward a connection that exists today, such as local fiber or a fixed-wireless plan, and revisit satellite after launch terms are published. If you are comparing, note that Starlink’s US pricing, roughly $55 to $130 a month by tier as reported, is not a guide to India, where pricing is set separately.
Set your expectations from evidence, not hype. Starlink’s constellation has grown fast: a public launch tracker lists 12,946 satellites launched and 9,670 operational as of September 20. Price comparison sites quote typical US latency of roughly 25 to 60 milliseconds. Neither number tells you how the service will perform in India, where the government’s stated limits are 20 lakh connections and 200 Mbps, ground infrastructure is new and local congestion is untested.
Wait for independent speed tests from Indian users after launch, not company claims. Competitive gamers on a working fiber line will not gain anything. Streamers on a patchy rural link may gain a great deal.
Track four things, in order. A home-ministry decision on security clearance for each licensee. Foreign-investment approval for Starlink. The final spectrum charge and assignment, including whether the rural discount survives. And any published conditions on subscriber caps and service restrictions. A spectrum recommendation is not a launch: the minister cautioned that talks between the regulator and the department could continue after recommendations were submitted.
Be careful with commentary. Our sources include government statements, company remarks and press reports, and the public debate mixes them with advocacy from companies that compete with Starlink. Separate what an official said from what a company or commentator says it means.
How to Prepare, and How to Stay Safe While You Wait
You cannot buy Starlink in India yet, but you can get ready to evaluate it sensibly the day it launches.
Start with the assumption that the first weeks after launch will be noisy. When a launch date is finally announced, expect a mix of official pricing, unofficial resellers, copied websites and messages claiming early slots. The Department of Telecommunications advised citizens in 2021 not to subscribe to services that lack authorisation, and the same logic applies to any seller who cannot show an authorised channel. Bookmark the official sources and look for the original statement before you believe a screenshot.
Prepare your site. A satellite dish needs a clear view of a wide patch of sky, a safe mounting spot and a power supply that survives outages. Take photographs of the planned location from the point where the dish would sit, and note nearby trees and buildings. If you rent or live in a society, find out who must approve a rooftop fixture before launch day, not after. Check that the cable route from the mount to your router is practical, and that the router location covers the rooms you actually use.
Prepare your budget. At the reported prices, plan for a first-year outlay of ₹63,000 to ₹75,000, and consider the high-end scenario of ₹1.37 lakh if the withdrawn listing returns in some form. Decide in advance whether you would pay the kit up front or prefer a rental or installment, and be ready to walk away if the terms include a long commitment you do not understand.
Check each of these in writing from the official source: the monthly price and what it includes, the speed and data terms, whether the kit is sold or rented, the refund or return window, the cancellation terms, who installs and supports it, whether a GST invoice is available, and where your user data is stored. Ask whether service can be restricted in your area. If any answer is missing, wait.
If someone has taken money for a Starlink India connection, act the same day. Call your bank to flag the transaction and ask about reversal, then file a report on the National Cyber Crime Reporting Portal or call the 1930 helpline. The Department of Telecommunications also runs the Sanchar Saathi portal for reporting suspected fraudulent telecom activity. Keep every screenshot, number, link and receipt, and do not delete the chat.
Four things would turn this from a wait-and-see guide into a buying guide. First, a clear statement from the home ministry that Starlink has met its security conditions. Second, foreign-investment approval. Third, a final spectrum assignment and charge. Fourth, a published price list with terms. When all four exist, the numbers in this guide will be replaced by real ones, and the situations above will have a clearer answer.
Status and prices reflect government statements, company remarks and press reports as we reviewed them in mid-October. Starlink has not announced official India pricing, and every price in this guide other than the clearly labelled United States and Bangladesh figures is a report or estimate, not an offer. Spectrum charge figures, the connection and speed cap and the timing of approvals may change. Cost totals and effective monthly figures are our own arithmetic on reported prices, rounded. Statements about security concerns describe reports and official remarks. Nothing here is financial or legal advice. This page is independent and is not affiliated with Starlink, SpaceX, the Government of India or any telecom operator.
Key sources: Department of Telecommunications and Ministry of Communications statements · MEDIANAMA and Business Standard reporting on the India Mobile Congress · ThePrint · All India Radio (newsonair) · Deccan Herald on the IN-SPACe authorisation · SpaceNews and Reuters on the 2021 pre-order halt · Starlink statements on X as reported